Our Northern Cardinal

Did you read that and think “Our?”

Well, if you did, that wasn’t a typo.  It was because this little guy feels like he’s “ours” because he seems to have claimed us.  For the longest time he was downright ornery about being photographed.  He would prance and prance about until I went to get the camera, then he would fly… every. single. time.

Now, we have apparently successfully “bought” his tolerance with enough sunflower seed, that he now allows photos.  Either that, or he now realizes my camera is not some predator about to eat him.  😉

Regardless, he now allows me to take his photo without flying off, most of the time.

~

~

See him eyeballing me, while I take his photo.  LOL

He has quite a bit of attitude.  He likes to come and fuss loudly at our window if there isn’t any seed.

~ ~ ~

One thought on “Our Northern Cardinal”

  1. I think that cardinals are more nervous than any of the other birds. I can be really quite and barely move the camera and they take off. Even though they have seen me around every day and know I bring the food to them. Maybe their color makes them jumpy…they know they are easily seen and an easy target for those who don’t like birds.

Leave a comment