My little woodpecker

He could be a Downey woodpecker (Picoides pubescens) or a Hairy Woodpecker (Picoides villosus).  I am not good at distinguishing the difference between the two.  Whatever he is, he is the only regular visitor to my suet.  Occasionally the blue jay eats the suet, but usually just the little woodpecker.  He is here daily.  And so often that I am starting to wonder if he is eating anything else.  LOL

At first he was very shy and would fly the second I cracked the door to try to take a photo.  So for weeks I never got a single photo of him.  Now he is getting more used to me.  And occasionally lets us take his picture.

~ ~ ~

2 thoughts on “My little woodpecker”

  1. I have trouble telling the difference, too, but I’d say this one looks small by the size of the feeder and probably a Downy. I love having either one!

  2. I finally figured them out today! I saw a Hairy at the feeder for the first time today January 10th, 2010. And the difference was obvious. I will post photos of him when I get caught up to todays date.

Leave a Reply

