Squirrels

The squirrel that loves to sit in the basket all the time that I nicknamed Aviator Squirrel, had a warble awhile back.  I didn’t post any of the photos of it, because they were fairly unpleasant to look at.  But I noticed today that the warble is out and healing now.  So that is good.

(If you don’t know what a warble is, it is a nasty fly larvae that buries through the skin of the squirrel and causes a nasty lump until it emerges, leaving a hole that has to heal.)

In this photo from today you can see it is gone and starting to heal nicely.

DSCF3565c_30_300dpi_wC

~

This next photo is of our newest visitor, the one I blogged about the other day.  Our 4th regular now.  He/she is larger than our regular three and doesn’t seem to get along very well with them at all.  They tolerate each other as long as a certain distance is observed but they don’t look comfortable around each other at all.  Why this one doesn’t fit in, I don’t know.  I suspect that perhaps the 3 slightly smaller squirrels were litter mates and have a better bond or something.  Hard to say.

I noticed in today’s photos of the new squirrel that it has some wounds.  A scratch on its head and a bloody spot under the neck.  They are hard to see in anything blogable size. But you can see the red spot under its neck.

DSCF3523c_30%_300dpi_wC

~

Now for something I find kind of funny.  My husband bought some rice cakes the awhile back.  I knew he would hate them.  I tried to tell him that, but sometimes a man just has to learn something for himself.  😉
They were that plain round kind that taste like you would suspect styrofoam would taste.  Anyway…  after he tried one and quickly realized he wasn’t going to eat them, he asked me what he should do with them.  I am really big on not wasting food.  So we try to use everything, and what we don’t/can’t we usually let the dogs have.  (As long as it is a dog safe food of course.)  Well…  I knew even the dogs would want nothing to do with those rice cakes.  So I said, well how about you try seeing if the squirrels will eat them.  Thank goodness I told him to only lay one out there under the tree, as a test.  Because it didn’t go well.  The squirrels sniff it, get a look that says “That’s not food.”  and they move on.  LOL!

Finally after that one rice cake sat out there for probably over a week, one of the squirrels decided it would be fun to shred it.  (Squirrels are big on shredding things for fun sometimes.)  And the shredded little pile laid there for quite some time.  Finally I think the rain has washed most of it away.  But here is a photo I took Oct. 2nd of the new squirrel checking out the rice cake next to the corn and dismissing it like the other 3 had.

DSCF3558c_40%_300dpi_wC

I love the cautious way that he/she approached it.  Like, What in the world is that?
My answer would be – don’t ask me… styrofoam?    😉

~ ~ ~

One thought on “Squirrels”

Leave a Reply

