Lots of CP pics for today

The weather had been suitably humid, muggy and wet so we brought out my indoor carnivorous plants to play.  Ok, not to play.  😉   But to enjoy some “real” weather (sun, rain) and bugs.  Can’t forget the bugs!

This blog post contains Sundews, Venus fly traps, and lots of Pitcher Plants.

DSCF3154c_20%_300dpi_wC

~

DSCF3090c_50%_300dpi_wC

Notice the hairs.  They are curved to help prevent caught insects from crawling back out.

~

Next is a new growth on the pitcher plant, that has yet to fully open.
I love the color on it.

DSCF3153c_30%_300dpi_wC

That is Sundew to the right of it.

~

Notice all the rain water caught in this next one.  It does not harm their digestive ability though.

DSCF3084c_70%_300dpi_wC

~

The next ones are also Pitcher plants and a small Venus fly trap in the right corner.

DSCF3155c_20%_300dpi_wC

~

More Pitcher Plant and Sundew:

DSCF3156c_15%_300dpi_wC

Hope you enjoyed them.  I think CPs are lovely plants.  Creepy, but lovely.  🙂

~ ~ ~

6 thoughts on “Lots of CP pics for today”

  1. I did enjoy these…not sure I have seen any of them…though I think I have seen a Venus flytrap. I just can’t remember for sure…i have a horrible memory.

  2. Hi Rose, I’m glad you enjoyed them! I have been somewhat fascinated with carnivorous plants ever since I was a kid. I was only able to find one book on them as a child (much to my great disappointment). But now there are some really great books out on CPs. I don’t keep many inside, due to their need for boggy conditions and my mold allergy. But I keep a small variety of them in a tank in my basement that stays inside most of the time, except for a small portion of the year. The Venus fly traps (who are more tolerant) are outside all year except for winter. I bring them in for winter due to the extremely cold extended freezes we have at times. But I leave the fly traps out for spring, summer & fall.

  3. This is an interesting plant. I haven’t seen them before either. Very pretty and it must be interesting to watch them “eat”. Becky must have missed this post….she has Venus Flytraps, I think. I can’t keep houseplants alive…so I gave up trying.

  4. It is interesting to watch them eat I think. I’ve never been too much of a houseplant person myself either. I used to have some ivy and a couple little things years ago. But I don’t really keep anything inside now except for my CPs, now that my allergies are so bad. And my CPs stay in the basement when they are inside.

Leave a Reply

