July 6th, 2009 – Hostas

Here are some of my hostas in bloom, near the well house:

July 6th, 2009 - hostas in bloom
July 6th, 2009 - hostas in bloom

Now for the sad situation to the right…  LOL
This hosta was a little volunteer that sprouted up on it’s own.  I could not believe it bloomed so much this year.  This was only it’s 2nd or perhaps 3rd year.  Unfortunately it is not big enough to take out the surrounding weeds near it like my other hostas do on their own.  And I haven’t been able to get anyone to do it for me.  So you can hardly see the plant in the photo, but you can make out three of the bloom stalks.

July 6th, 2009 - hosta blooms
July 6th, 2009 - hosta blooms

I love to take photos of my hostas.  I like to get them coming up out of the ground in the spring, and then all the way through the season.  I usually take lots of macro type shots of them.  But this year I haven’t been able to do much of that, and I was having to shoot these from a distance.  And I was lamenting that fact when my husband asked if I wanted him to go and try to get some close ups for me.  Of course I jumped at the chance and said “YES!”  He said, “Well I can’t guarantee how they will come out, but I’ll try.”
And he got one that is just beautiful.  Best shot we got the whole day of anything we photographed, in my opinion.  Here it is:

July 6th, 2009 - Hosta Bloom
July 6th, 2009 - Hosta Bloom
2 thoughts on “July 6th, 2009 – Hostas”

  1. Mine were very tiny for years. But most of them are between 11 and 12 years old now, and they have grown tremendously in the past few years. I really need to get someone to help me divide them, as they are crowding things and each other now. The one in the top photo spread wide enough that it would be blocking the entire doorway to the well house now, if not for someone weedeating that side of it, to keep the walkway to the door open. If you look closely you can see the poor battered leaves on the bottom from the weedeater. 😦 But actually the hostas on the back sides of the buildings are larger. I just haven’t been able to get down that bank to photograph them this year. Last year the big one over there was over 8 feet wide and choking out my yellow one beside it that was probably 3 to 4 feet wide. I took a peek earlier this year and it is making it, but I need to get it divided by next year for sure. The flowers were prettier last year when I was able to get out and water occasionally and give them a little bit of attention. But we have had a lot of rain this summer so far, so that has helped. Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

