copyright 2008-2010 All Rights Reserved

Sycamore seed pod

It’s not often that I see these Sycamore tree seed pods completely intact.  Typically the fall from so high, knocks them open.

~

Edited August 2010 to add:  Apparently search engines love this page.  That’s cool.  I mean what blogger wouldn’t like that?  And apparently more people search for Sycamore tree seed pods than I would have ever imagined.  But recently I’ve noticed that search engines have been sending people here almost daily that searched for “Maple tree seeds”, or “maple tree seed pods”.  I am not sure why.  So after seeing this for weeks I thought I’d try to help a little.

If you came here searching for Maple tree seed pods then let me help direct you to the correct location: You can go to the top of the page, hover over “Photo Categories”, then “Plants”, then “Trees”, then click on “Maple Trees”.  There you will find any current and future posts that I categorize on Maple trees and their seeds.  I do have them.  But this is a Sycamore seed pod on this page, not a Maple tree seed pod.  A Maple tree seed pod looks like this.  I hope that helps!

~ ~ ~

6 responses

  1. I don’t think I have seen one close…..just hanging on trees. neat!

    April 4, 2010 at 11:30 pm

  2. Hannah

    can you decorate these tree seeds

    November 3, 2010 at 2:40 pm

  3. I am not sure, Hannah. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen anyone try. They are firm on the outside when tight like this, but the insides are very “fluffy” (for lack of a better word). So I don’t know how they would hold up over time. Most are busted open by the force of their fall to the ground. It would be hard to come up with very many intact like this one, unless someone pulled them from the tree before they fell. It’s an interesting question though! If you try, come back and let me know how it goes.

    November 3, 2010 at 4:16 pm

  4. kris

    My grandson would like to plant the sycamore pod. Do you pland the pod to get a tree?
    Thank you.
    Kris

    November 29, 2010 at 12:57 pm

  5. Hi Kris,

    I didn’t know the answer to your question but my first thought was that it would likely have to be opened up and the seeds dried first. I decided to try to see if I could find the answer to your question and apparently I had that part correct. Here’s the instructions that I found on this website:
    http://www.doityourself.com/stry/how-to-grow-a-sycamore-tree-from-seeds

    I hope that helps!

    Debbie

    December 2, 2010 at 1:26 am

  6. Lee

    My husband and I picked a couple dozen of these seed pods when visiting in Grand Junction about 12-15 years ago. I have had them in a bowl because they have such a pleasing appearance. I get lots of comments on them and am always asked what they are. I finally went online to find out. They are as hard and compact as they were when we picked them, and none of them have ever burst open. I have not tried to break one open because I like them the way they are.

    April 10, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.