copyright 2008-2010 All Rights Reserved

Young Eastern Box Turtle

Today I’ve got a young Eastern Box Turtle (Terrapene carolina carolina).  I haven’t seen the adult who was hanging around in July in awhile.  I hope he didn’t live too dangerously.  Hopefully he’s still around and I just haven’t seen him.  I haven’t been out much, so that is entirely possible.

This one isn’t full grown yet.  And was quite cooperative in terms of getting his photograph taken.  So that was nice.

DSCF3210_15%_300dpi_wC

~

This next shot is a close up of his shell:

DSCF3215c_60%_300dpi_wC

Their shell patterns have always reminded me of finger prints.

~

DSCF3191c_20%_300dpi_wC

~

DSCF3214c_15%_300dpi_wC

It’s so nice when my subjects have such a pleasant personality and tolerate me pestering them with my camera so well.

~

DSCF3204c_20%_300dpi_wC

~

DSCF3213c_35%_300dpi_wC

As you can see in the photo above, he has some sort of injury or birth defect to one of his toes.

~

And also a small place near his mouth, as you can see below:

DSCF3195c_20%_300dpi_wC

~

DSCF3211c_40%_300dpi_wC

Time to leave him alone, and let him go about his way.  But it was nice to have him visit.  I hope he hangs around.

~ ~ ~

4 responses

  1. Excellant shots Debbie. I love turtles, and this one is a beauty.
    B.

    September 27, 2009 at 9:49 pm

  2. debbienorman

    Thank you Becky! I am glad you enjoyed them!

    September 27, 2009 at 10:59 pm

  3. He’s a beauty! I love the patterns on the shells….the way they are made up of the different sections and the lines and “fingerprint” markings you mentioned. I don’t get to see many box turtles.

    September 28, 2009 at 10:14 am

  4. debbienorman

    I used to see a lot more of them around here than I do now. I’m not sure how much of that is a decline in the turtles, and how much is a decline in me getting out and about. But I definitely think there are less around here than there were in the past. Not sure why.

    September 28, 2009 at 12:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.